In every thing give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.
1 Thessalonians 5:18

About Us

Rt. Rev. Modeste DemersAbout Us

Incorporated in 1892, the Diocese of Victoria comprises Vancouver Island, Gulf Islands and adjacent islands. The Oregon Mission was raised to an Apostolic Vicariate on December 1, 1843, and Bishop Francis Norbert Blanchet was the first Vicar Apostolic. On July 24, 1846, the Diocese of Vancouver Island was erected, including Vancouver Island, the adjacent islands, New Caledonia (i.e. the BC Mainland), the Queen Charlotte Islands and Alaska, with the bishop residing in Victoria. The Diocese was raised to the status of an archdiocese on June 19, 1903. The name was changed to Victoria on September 6, 1904. It was returned to the status of a diocese on October 1, 1908.

Former Bishops

1847-1871 Rt. Rev. Modeste Demers
1873-1878 Most Rev. Charles John Seghers
1879-1883 Rt. Rev. Jean Baptiste Brondel
1885-1886 Most Rev. Charles John Seghers
1888-1897 Rt. Rev. J.N. Lemmens
1898-1899 Most Rev. Alexander Christie
1900-1908 Most Rev. Bertram Orth
1909-1923 Rt. Rev. Alexander MacDonald
1924-1929 Rt. Rev. Thomas O'Donnell
1930-1933 Most Rev. Gerald Murray, CSsR
1934-1936 Most Rev. John Hugh MacDonald
1937-1946 Most Rev. John C. Cody
1946-1962 Most Rev. James M. Hill
1962-1999 Most Rev. Remi J. De Roo
1999-2004 Most Rev. Raymond Roussin, SM
2004-2013 Most Rev. Richard Gagnon

Current Bishop

Most Rev. Gary Gordon

Last Updated

Feb 2, 2018


News & Announcements



Pilgrimage of Relic of St. Francis Xavier stops in Victoria

Read More



Fr. Alfredo Monacelli celebrates 10th Anniversary of ordination

Read More